EC Announces Date and Filing Fee for Kumawu Parliamentary By-Elections

Check Aspirants For NDC and NPP Also Check 2020 Results

EC Announces Date and Filing Fee for Kumawu Parliamentary By-Election; Check Aspirants For NDC and NPP Also Check 2020 Results


The Electoral Commission wishes to announce for the information of the General Public that following the death of the Member of Parliament for the Kumawu Constituency; Hon. Philip Basoah, the seat of the Constituency in Parliament has become vacant.


In accordance with Article 112 (5) of the Constitution, as amended, the Electoral Commission will hold a By-Election in the Constituency on Tuesday, the 23rd of May, 2023.


Accordingly, the Commission will receive Nominations from prospective Candidates for the Election of a Member of Parliament for the said Constituency. The Nominations will be received at the Sekyere Kumawu District Office of the Commission from 2nd May 2023 to 5th May 2023 between the hours of 9:00 am to 12:00 pm and 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm on
each day.

Interested candidates are required to download the Nomination Forms from the Commission’s website (www.ec.gov.gh) from 14th April 2023 to 5th May 2023.

A prospective Candidate may personally deliver or cause to be delivered on his/her behalf by either the Proposer or Seconder of his/her Nomination, the completed Nomination Forms to the Returning Officer at the Sekyere Kumawu District Office of the Commission, on the dates and times stated above.

The Nomination Forms for each Candidate shall be witnessed by the signature or mark of two registered voters, as Proposer and Seconder, and supported by eighteen other registered voters in the Constituency as assenting to the Nominations.

The Nomination Forms shall also be endorsed with the Candidate’s consent
to the Nomination.

A Candidate shall at the time of submitting his/her completed Nomination Forms, provide the Returning Officer with two (2) copies of a recent postcard (bust-sized) photograph against a red background, showing his/her full face and ears.

Filing Fee

The filing fee for the election is Ten thousand Ghana Cedis (GHC10,000.00) per candidate.
All completed Nomination Forms are expected to be delivered in quadruplicate.
We urge the public to be guided accordingly.




Kwasi Amankwa, NDC aspirant for the bye-election


Ernest Yaw Anim is the newly elected NPP Parliamentary Candidate for Kumawu constituency. 195 votes out of 419.   Close Competitor was Ama Serwah N.T with 181 votes

Eight NPP stalwarts were seeking to lead the party as its parliamentary candidate for the upcoming by-election, but six received clearance after the vetting.

Lawyer Edward Kofi Osei, Dr. Philip Bannor, Dr. Da Costa Aboagye, Mr Ernest Yaw Anim, Madam. Ama Serwaa, Mr. Kwame Appiah-Kubi, Yaw Baah former Kumawu MP unseated by the late MP and Osei Hweree Kwame Bempah.

The New Patriotic Party has set Sunday, April 23, 2023, to select a candidate ahead of the by-election at Kumawu.

Election 2020: Kumawu Constituency Results

Candidate Votes Share%
PHILIP BASOAH NPP 14,960  51.11%
Duah Kwaku No Party  11,698  39.96%
Bernard Opoku Marfo NDC   2,439 8.33%
Nana Amoako GUM 174        0.59%


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Adblock Detected

Kindly turn on ads to support our work