Tertiary Admissions/ Updates

USA Grading System 2024

USA Grading System

The grading system in the United States can vary depending on the educational institution and level of education. However, there are some common grading systems that are widely used in the U.S. Here is a typical grading scale for schools and colleges:

A (Excellent): This is the highest grade and typically represents outstanding performance. It is often awarded for scores of 90% or higher.

B (Good): This grade is given for above-average performance and usually corresponds to scores between 80% and 89%.

C (Satisfactory): A “C” grade represents an average level of performance. It is often awarded for scores between 70% and 79%.

D (Poor): A “D” grade is considered a passing grade but represents below-average performance. It typically corresponds to scores between 60% and 69%.

F (Fail): An “F” grade is a failing grade and is usually given for scores below 60%. It means the student did not meet the minimum requirements for passing the course.

In addition to letter grades, some educational institutions use a plus/minus grading system to provide more granularity in evaluating performance. For example: In the United States, academic grading commonly takes on the form of five, six or seven letter grades.

Traditionally, the grades are A+, A, A−, B+, B, B−, C+, C, C−, D+, D, D− and F, with A+ being the highest and F being lowest. In some cases, grades can also be numerical. Numeric-to-letter-grade conversions generally vary from system to system and between disciplines and status.

A+: Exceptional
A: Excellent
A-: Very good
B+: Good
B: Above average
B-: Satisfactory
C+: Adequate
C: Below average
C-: Minimum passing
D+: Poor
D: Very poor
D-: Failing

LetterGrade Percentage GPA
A+ 97–100% 4.0
A 93–96% 3.9
A− 90–92% 3.7
B+ 87–89% 3.3
B 83–86% 3.0
B− 80–82% 2.7
C+ 77–79% 2.3
C 73–76% 2.0
C− 70–72% 1.7
D+ 67–69% 1.3
D 63–66% 1.0
D− 60–62% 0.7
F 0–59% 0.0

It’s important to note that grading scales may vary between different schools, colleges, and universities. Additionally, some institutions use a 4.0 grading scale, where an “A” is worth 4.0 points, a “B” is worth 3.0 points, a “C” is worth 2.0 points, and so on. The GPA (Grade Point Average) is often calculated based on this scale, with a 4.0 GPA being the highest achievable.

Grading policies, weightings, and systems may also differ between K-12 schools and higher education institutions, so it’s essential to check with your specific school or institution for their grading system and policies.


Peter N. Djangmah is a multifaceted individual with a passion for education, entrepreneurship, and blogging. With a firm belief in the power of digital education and science, I am affectionately known as the Private Minister of Information. Connect with me

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly turn on ads to support our work