Tertiary Admissions/ Updates

GPA Grading System

GPA Grading System

The GPA (Grade Point Average) grading system is a method used by educational institutions to evaluate a student’s academic performance and assign a numerical value to their overall achievement. The GPA system is commonly used in the United States and some other countries. It is designed to provide a standardized way of measuring a student’s academic success.

Here’s a typical breakdown of the GPA grading scale in the United States:

Letter Grades: In the U.S., students receive letter grades for their courses, typically on an A, B, C, D, F scale. These letter grades represent a range of numerical values:
A: 4.0 (Excellent)
B: 3.0 (Good)
C: 2.0 (Satisfactory)
D: 1.0 (Marginal)
F: 0.0 (Fail)

Weighted GPA: Some schools also use a weighted GPA, which assigns additional value to advanced courses (such as honors or AP classes). In a weighted GPA system, an A in an honors or AP course might be worth 4.5 or 5.0, respectively, instead of the standard 4.0.

Calculating GPA: To calculate your GPA, you add up the numerical values of your grades and divide by the number of courses. For example, if you have the following grades:
English (A): 4.0
Math (B): 3.0
History (C): 2.0
Science (A): 4.0

Your GPA would be (4.0 + 3.0 + 2.0 + 4.0) / 4 = 13.0 / 4 = 3.25.

Cumulative GPA: Students often have both a semester GPA and a cumulative GPA. The semester GPA is the average for a specific term, while the cumulative GPA is the average of all courses taken up to that point.

Grading Scale Variations: Keep in mind that the specific GPA grading scale and the way GPAs are calculated can vary between institutions. Some schools may use plus/minus grading (e.g., A-, B+, B-) and have slightly different numerical values for these grades.

It’s essential to check with your school or institution for the exact GPA scale and grading policies they use, as they may have variations or additional factors that influence GPA calculations. The GPA is often used for college admissions, scholarship eligibility, and academic recognition, so it’s crucial for students to understand how it works and strive to maintain a strong GPA.

Columbia University

If your school uses the standard A-F grading scale, you can also follow the steps below to calculate your GPA. If your school uses an alternate scale, please contact your school for instructions.

How to Calculate Your GPA

(standard A-F scale only)

1. Convert each grade into its numeric equivalent using the chart below.

 A+  =  4.33
 A  =  4.00
 A-  =  3.67
 B+  =  3.33
 B  =  3.00
 B-  =  2.67
 C+  =  2.33
 C  =  2.00
 C-  =  1.67
 D+  =  1.33
 D  =  1.00
 D-  =  0.67
 F  =  0.00

2. Multiply each class grade by the number of credits earned. For example: 3.0 (grade) x 4.0 (credits) = 12.

3. Divide this number by total credits attempted.  This is your GPA.

Please note: “Pass” grades have no GPA value.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly turn on ads to support our work